Capital Region High School Sports Awards: 24 honorees for boys basketball

Staff report

The State Journal-Register will host the Capital Region High School Sports Awards at the end of this school year on June 30.

It will recognize student-athletes from the SJ-R area and this year's program will broadcast online featuring the biggest names in professional sports.

Honorees for state sanctioned sports will be announced throughout the year. More information about the event may be found on the Capital Region High School Sports Awards website.

Here are this year's 24 honorees for boys basketball, with 12 spots designated for both Large School and Small School.

The Player of the Year will be announced during the awards show.


Tye Banks

TYE BANKS, Lanphier, JR. 

Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Class 3A all-state special mention led the 13-1 Lions in scoring with 15.1 ppg on 57.1% shooting.  

K.J. Debrick

K.J. DEBRICK, Lanphier, SR. 

Associated Press Class 3A second team all-state and a first team 3A pick by the IBCA, Debrick averaged 14.1 ppg, 9.5 rpg and 4.2 blocks per game. The Lions won their final 13 games to claim the Central State Eight’s regular season and tournament titles.  

James Dent

JAMES DENT, Southeast, SR. 

Class 3A IBCA All-State and AP honorable mention finished ninth in Southeast scoring history with 1,116 career points. In 2021, he averaged 21.1 ppg and 7.1 rpg.  

Jake Hamilton

JAKE HAMILTON, Sacred Heart-Griffin, SOPH. 

The AP’s 2A second team selection and IBCA 2A special mention showed the Cyclones have a bright future with a team-leading 12.1 scoring average in 17 games. He also averaged 6.4 rpg.  

Shane Miller

SHANE MILLER, Springfield High, SR. 

This IBCA 3A special mention finished 1,372 points in his four-year career and averaged 13.9 ppg over that span. In his final campaign, he carried the Senators with 17.5 ppg. 

Dylan Singleton


Named to the IBCA 3A all-state team and an honorable mention by the AP, he averaged 19.6 ppg and hauled in 4.3 rpg as a guard. He averaged 2.6 steals per game, shot 99-for-117 (84.6%) from the free-throw line and was 132 of 246 (53.7%) from the field.  


Wes Anderson

WES ANDERSON, Chatham Glenwood, JR. 

Led the team in three categories: points (13.0 per game), rebounds (6.5) and assists (2.5).  

Sam Antonacci

SAM ANTONACCI, Sacred Heart-Griffin, SR. 

He had already showed a proclivity for hitting big shots as a junior, and he kept at it as a senior. He finished with a 10.5 ppg average on 43.9% shooting and was rewarded as a IBCA 2A special mention selection.  

Jerret Belford

JERRET BELFORD, Jacksonville, JR. 

Saved his best for the first round of the Central State Eight Conference Tournament with a 26-point outing against Glenwood, one game after his previous career high of 21 against Lanphier. He averaged 11.1 ppg.  

Landon Hullinger


An IBCA 3A special mention finished with 12.2 ppg and a team-high 5.4 rpg for the 15-4 Railsplitters. He led the team with 45 3-pointers made.  

Wyatt Shirley

WYATT SHIRLEY, Taylorville, SR. 

Ballooned his scoring average from 6.8 ppg as a junior to 14.7 as a senior. He also carried averages of 3.6 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 2.8 steals per game. He made 39% of his 3-point attempts.  

Bennie Slater

BENNIE SLATER, Springfield High, SR. 

Earned special mention honors for 3A by the IBCA and averaged 13.4 points, 8.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.8 blocks per game.  



Andrew Ambrose

Andrew Ambrose, Pana, SR. 

The Class 2A Illinois Basketball Coaches Association honorable mention averaged 14 points, 5.6 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.5 steals per game for the Panthers. The three-year starting forward finished his career with 1,081 points and 527 rebounds, reaching All-South Central Conference First Team two consecutive seasons. He also ended his career by helping Pana win 45 of its final 56 games. 

Justin Guernsey

Justin Guernsey, Pleasant Plains, SR.

The standout veteran is the only player to return to The State Journal-Register's Small School Boys Basketball First Team for a second straight season. He manufactured 17.1 points and 6.2 rebounds per game to lead the Cardinals in both categories. He additionally shot 33% from 3-point range and totaled 28 assists and 31 steals. He earned Class 2A Illinois Basketball Coaches Association All-State honors and was a unanimous All-Sangamo Conference First Team selection.  

Brayden Pettit

Brayden Pettit, Petersburg PORTA/A-C Central, SR.

The All-Sangamo Conference First Team guard was the only returning starter for the Bluejays and produced 10 points, two assists and two steals per game. He ultimately led Petersburg PORTA to an undefeated season in the Sangamo and performed whatever role was asked of him. 

Cade Privia

Cade Privia, Petersburg PORTA/A-C Central, SR.

The Class 2A Illinois Basketball Coaches Association honorable mention led the Bluejays in scoring (12 points per game) and rebounding (7 rpg). The forward also shot 72% from the field and was unanimously named to the All-Sangamo Conference First Team. 

Tanner Wilson

Tanner Wilson, North Mac, SR.

A longer season and Wilson undoubtedly would’ve set the school record for most career points. The prolific guard ended his career with 1,331 points and came up just 17 points shy of the benchmark. Wilson could score from anywhere and averaged 18.3 points, 1.9 assists and 1.8 rebounds per game. He shot 51.5% from the floor and 33.7% from 3. He garnered numerous awards. He was on the Class 2A Illinois Basketball Coaches Association All-State squad and unanimous All-Sangamo Conference First Team. He was also named Most Valuable Player in the season-ending Waverly Holiday Tournament. 

Drake Vogel

Drake Vogel, Hillsboro, JR.

The Class 2A Illinois Basketball Coaches Association honorable mention led the Hiltoppers to an undefeated season at 14-0 overall and 9-0 in the South Central Conference. He contributed 16.1 points and 5.1 rebounds per game. He rained in 37 3-pointers and shot 46.3% from the field. He was named All-SCC First Team. 


Connor Hennemann

Connor Hennemann, Pawnee, SR.

The All-MSM Conference First Team pick collected 24 points, three rebounds, 1.5 assists and two steals per game for Pawnee. The team captain transcended 1,000 career points despite playing just seven games this year and half of his freshman season.

Zach Hinds

Zach Hinds, Riverton, SR.

The All-Sangamo Conference First Teamer averaged 11.3 points, four rebounds and 4.6 assists per game for the Hawks. The nimble guard had a 2:1 assist to turnover ratio. 

Trent Markezich

Trent Markezich, Mount Olive, JR.

Unanimously selected to first team in both the MSM and Prairie State conferences, Markezich averaged 20.3 points per game. He scored a season-high 35 points against Edinburg and totaled six 3-pointers against Lutheran. 

Dain Richie

Dain Richie, New Berlin, SR.

The team captain finished his final season with 13.8 points and 6.5 rebounds per game. The three-year starter was one of the premier defenders in the area and took 22 charges in 18 games. He landed on the All-Sangamo Conference Second Team. 

Spencer Rikas

Spencer Rikas, Auburn, JR.

The All-Sangamo Conference First Team honoree led the Trojans with 15.7 points, 3.7 rebounds and 1.7 assists per game. He shot 39% from 3 and converted 56 3-point field goals. 

Cory Ronan

Cory Ronan, Jacksonville Routt, SR.

The 6-foot-1 point guard ended his basketball career with 10.2 points, 5.5 rebounds and 5.1 steals per game for the Rockets. He reached the All-Western Illinois Valley Conference First Team for the second consecutive season.